Exploring War Like Worlds.

Why would a casual fund the hardcores subscription?

Posted on: August 11, 2009

In a discussion on the lotro forums someone made an excellent point.

Why would or should a casual player fund the content for the hardcore? The content that they will never get to access. Hmm I can’t think of any reason in myself. I want to be able to access the whole game, all possible achivements and items, it makes me a bit sad when things are taken out so I can’t.

Even when I am the hardcore player in a game I dont like that myself, I think its a bit unfair. I dont see my achievements being lessened by someone else getting them.

When ever I see the player complaining about features being put in for others that make it too easy, I think of them as a spoilt child, privileged and never taught empaty. It was really weird to read complaints about features being added for the colour blind, for those no so abled bodied, or for those that dont have lightening fast reaction times any more.

I suppose I think mmorpgs should cater for all those and be able to be completed by all, as those who are Killers, with twitch fast reactions and no disabilites or difficulties are more the halo players, off on xbox live, never having to care about anyone else, happy with their own kind, shouting at each other and calling each other noobs.

But then again, I’m a EASK, I’m sure the KASE would disagree, but I don’t really want to play with them, surely they have darkfall to keep them amused.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Playing this week

  • FFXIV
  • Guild Wars
  • Disgaia 3

Categories

